Layover life: Singapore & Melbourne

Hey guys! My apologies for the delay in getting this post to you. I have been off sick for a week and haven’t been that active online. But I’m back, and I’ve got two new destinations to tell you about!

A week or so ago, I was given my first multi-sector flight. The trip was 6 days long, and took me from Dubai to Singapore, Singapore to Melbourne, Melbourne to Singapore, and Singapore back to Dubai.

Some background information- at the end of each sector, Cabin Crew are entitled to a rest break or layover. This time is allocated to us based on our destination and other factors such as the length of the flight we are operating, the departure schedule of the route etc., BUT is usually around 24 hours long. During this time, we are given a hotel room to stay in and are free to do as we like. (Within limits, of course).

That being said, I had the pleasure of spending time in both Singapore and Melbourne. Here’s what I got up to:

Singapore 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Gardens by the Bay – OCBC Skyway

When travelling, I try not to plan my day in advance. This is because I find that I have more fun when I go with the flow, instead of stressing over how many activities I can cram into a short period of time.

Singapore has a lot to offer, so I knew that whatever I got up to was going to be an adventure. After speaking with the staff at my hotel and some fellow Cabin Crew, a group of us decided to walk around downtown. This eventually led us to the Gardens by the Bay– which I highly recommend visiting if you ever get the chance!

Gardens by the Bay is a nature park spanning 101 hectares (250 acres). It is part of a strategy by the Singapore government to transform Singapore from a “Garden City” to a “City in a Garden”. Capturing the essence of the region, the goal of this project is to raise the quality of life by enhancing greenery and flora in the city.

The gardens were stunning and the the OCBC Skyway within it provided us with some amazing views- which, of course, made for some great instagram photos!

Aside from the gardens, we also visited the Singapore Flyer, Marina Bay Sands Hotel and Clarke Quay area of the city.

Melbourne

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Taking in the street art at Flinders Lane and Cocker Alley

I’ve said this before in previous posts, but Australia reminds me of my home back in Canada! From the weather, to the architecture, to the people, I really love it here. This was my second time visiting the country, and I happened to be in Melbourne on Australia Day!

Australia Day is the official National Day of Australia and occurs on the 26th of January. Some history for you- it marks the anniversary of the 1788 arrival of the First Fleet of British Ships at Port Jackson, New South Wales, and the raising of the Flag of Great Britain at Sydney Cove. To celebrate, tons of events are held across the country.

While in Melbourne, a group of us stumbled upon the annual Australian Day Parade when we were touring the downtown core. The streets were full of people decked out in Aussie gear and everyone was having a great time.

Keeping with the festive Australian vibe, following the parade we decided to check out some of the street art that Melbourne is known for. We walked around Flinders Lane and Cocker Alley, and ended up visiting the Fitzroy Gardens on our way back to the hotel.

If you ever get the chance to visit Melbourne, I highly recommend signing up for a street art tour. I wasn’t able to join one given the short time I was in the city for, but I wish someone would had been with us to speak to some of the work we saw!

Next Up

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

In the coming days I will be heading to Frankfurt, Germany followed by Manchester, United Kingdom. I haven’t been to Europe in years, so I’m really looking forward to spending time there.

Remember- if you have any questions pleaseeeeeee feel free to ask me by leaving a reply below. I’ll try my best to respond to you as soon as I can. Thanks for following!

——–

Twitter: @KelseyBelleTO

Facebook: @LipstickAndLuggage

Instagram: @LipstickAndLuggage

——–

Disclaimer: My posts are my personal views and and do not represent the views of my company.

 

Leave a comment